The first Counting Ourselves survey in 2018 was very lucky to have support from a wonderful group of 10 people who volunteered to be on our Community Advisory Group. Many also helped profile the survey through social media, explaining “Why this Survey Matters to Me”

The Community Advisory Group’s role was to provide advice on ways to make sure the survey:

    • was relevant to the health issues that trans and non-binary people face and
    • reached a diverse range of people and communities.

Our Community Advisory group members were:

    • Bea Alcorn (Ahuriri/Napier and Te Whanganui-a-Tara/Wellington)
    • Nathan Bramwell (Waikato)
    • Phylesha Brown-Acton (Tāmaki Makaurau/Auckland)
    • Tai Hartley-Parsons (Te Whanganui-a-Tara/Wellington)
    • Roxanne Peoples-Henare (Tāmaki Makaurau/Auckland)
    • Laurel McLachlan (Ōtepoti/Dunedin)
    • Soul Mehlhopt (Manawatū)
    • Scout Barbour-Evans (Ōtepoti/Dunedin)
    • Ahi Wi-Hongi (Te Whanganui-a-Tara/Wellington) and
    • Jevon Wright (Te Whanganui-a-Tara/Wellington)

The Community Advisory Group met together in South Auckland in February 2018 to review the first draft of the survey questionnaire and again in February 2019 to look at the first analysis of the survey results. Most of their work and support was done remotely and included promoting the survey (and its findings) within their local communities. 

How was the Community Advisory Group chosen?

On 25 October 2017, the research team put out a call asking for people to apply to be on the Community Advisory Group. That call was circulated to as many trans, non-binary and takatāpui groups that we could identify, including many online Facebook groups. The application form listed the skills and knowledge we needed for the role. The research team received a lot of great applications and it was very hard to narrow down to the 10 people selected. We were very lucky that some of the other applicants were also keen to help us promote the survey.

The Project Team
Community Advisory Group
Social Media Team
Informed by Kaupapa Māori Research
Supporting Organisations